UNESCOTopicMember statesLinks and documentsContact


 UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) is a specialized agency of the United Nations established in 1945 with a purpose is to “contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through education, science, and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, the rule of law, and the human rights and fundamental freedoms proclaimed in the UN Charter”.1

UNESCO has 195 Members and 8 Associate Members. Its permanent headquarters are in Paris, France. UNESCO pursues its action through five major programs: education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information. However, these are the means to a far more ambitious goal: to build peace. The world is in need of global visions of sustainable development and true dialogue, which lies in the heart of UNESCO’s mission and activities.

“UNESCO is known as the "intellectual" agency of the United Nations. At a time when the world is looking for new ways to build peace and sustainable development, people must rely on the power of intelligence to innovate, expand their horizons and sustain the hope of a new humanism. UNESCO exists to bring this creative intelligence to life; for it is in the minds of men and women that the defenses of peace and the conditions for sustainable development must be built.”

 World Heritage Committee

World Heritage Committee (WHC) is a committee under the jurisdiction of UNESCO. Its responsibility is the implementation of the World Heritage Convention. Moreover, it is the one to define the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocate financial assistance upon requests from State Parties. It has the final say on whether a property is inscribed on the World Heritage List as well as deciding on inscription or deletion of properties on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

A Committee’s member term lasts for six year although most State Parties voluntarily choose to be Members of the Committee for only four years, providing other States Parties with a possibility to be on the Committee.



  • Belgrade International Model UN - BIMUN
    United Nations Association of Serbia

  • + 381 11 322 46 48

  • 22 /III Makedonska street,
    11000 Belgrade, Serbia

  • bimun.unaserbia@gmail.com



Instagram profil: bimun_belgrade